Yummy Chicken Noodle Soup

Last night I served this yummy Chicken Noodle Soup for dinner. I like to make batches of this ahead of time and freeze them for easy weeknight dinners. Today seems to be a bit better than yesterday. I have the day off and I plan to spend it baking Christmas treats for friends and family!
Photobucket
Recipe:
1/2 cup diced carrot
1/4 cup diced celery
1/4 cup diced onion
1 teaspoon butter
8 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups diced cooked chicken
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 1/4 cups uncooked medium egg noodles
1 tablespoon parsley
In a large saucepan saute carrot, celery, and onion in butter until tender. Add broth, chicken and seasonings & parsley. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat. Add noodles. Cook for 10 minutes or until tender. (If you plan to cook ahead and freeze like I do, then don’t add the egg noodles until you reheat the soup. If you try to add them to the soup you plan to freeze then they will just end up soggy.)
That’s it! Pretty simple and yummy. I served my soup with Pillsbury Crescent Rolls. I just love those things.
PS- This time around I was out of egg noodles to add so I just added some shells that I had on hand.
Leave a Reply

