Her Books: 2012

Maybe you didn’t know, but I love to read. Since graduating in December, I can finally put the textbooks down and read for fun. Instead of teacher’s assigning my books this year, I’ve given myself a few assignments. You may have noticed the new tabs up there below my blog’s header. I’ll be keeping track of all my progress on those pages.
This year I’ve taken on a couple of challenges: the Cruisin’ thru the Cozies Challenge  hosted by Yvonne and the Eclectic Reader Challenge hosted by Book’d Out. For Cruisin’ thru the Cozies challenge I’m doing the lowest level- snoop level- which means that I need to read six cozy mysteries this year. I may read more but I want to make sure I have time for my other reading goals as well. I picked up my first cozy mysteries (by Carolyn Hart) from inter-library loan today. Can’t wait to dive in!

Photobucket

For the Eclectic Reader Challenge, I need to read two books from each of the following genres:

1. Literary Fiction
2. Crime/Mystery Fiction: 
3. Romantic Fiction
4. Historical Fiction
5. Young Adult
6. Fantasy
7. Science Fiction
8. Non Fiction
9. Horror
10. Thriller/Suspense
11. Classic 
12. Favorite Genre

I’ve already started this challenge and if you click on the challenge tab above you can see the books that I’ve picked out so far. 

I’ve also joined my (first ever) book club hosted by The Many Thoughts of a Reader. The book for April is Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah. I’ve ordered it through inter-library loan but it hasn’t come yet. The discussions for this book will be on April 13 and 30. I’ll be posting my thoughts here on those days.
I also have a long standing goal to read all of the Newbery Award winners from 1922 to present. You can see which ones I’ve read so far by clicking on the challenge tab above as well.
I am already behind on my goals this year because I didn’t read at all in January or February and then I had a slow start. So now it’s April and I’m finally kicking it in to high gear. I hope you don’t mind me sharing my book love with you from now on.
6 thoughts on “Her Books: 2012

  1. I haven't gotten the book yet either. I ordered it from the library but still no sign of it. I'll have to check out the #twookclub. Sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

