Saturday Meal Planning

Photobucket 
You know the drill- it was Bountiful Basket Saturday! I am super excited by our basket this week. Strawberries and corn on the cob-awesome! I hoping to get some seeds planted today for our own garden. We’ve had varying success with gardening over the last three years and I’m hoping that this year will be a good one. Having Bountiful Baskets has made it seem like we have a successful garden year round. It’s been a lot of fun. 
So here’s what we got in our basket (all for $15 and with no extra add-ons this week):
Bag of Apples
6 Kiwi
7 Roma Tomatoes
3 Lemons
8 Bananas
Strawberries
6 Ears of Corn
2 Romaine Lettuce
Bunch of Spinach
Celery
3 Yellow Onions
4 Yellow Squash
And here are the meal ideas I’ve come up with:
Sloppy Joes with Savory Grilled Corn on the Cob
Grilled Tomato & Cheese Sandwiches with Side Salad
Spring Veggie Rolls with Rice
Chinese Chicken Salad

Other:
Apple Turnovers
Apple Scones
Banana Bread (requested by my husband)
Lemon Brownies(recommended by my sister)


Now it’s your turn- share one favorite recipe in the comments section that you think we should try!

3 thoughts on “Saturday Meal Planning

  1. Your basket looks amazing! I totally want to get one myself but all the pick up times here are early AM and it's hard to get out with Russell that early. Plus I know the site says they would like you to volunteer when you can and there is no way I could do that with Russell. At least not effectively. HA HA HA! MMM everything looks good though! I don't have a recipe but my go to lately has been oven roasting veggies. A little olive oil, garlic salt and pepper and it's just so good. I even found I love brussels sprouts cooked that way. :)

  2. I have been obsessed with apple pie lately! I make moms pie crust…then mix my apples with some cinnamon, sugar and a little flour,and the best part a strudel topping. Serve with vanilla ice cream. Yum! I would love a basket sometime…maybe I will have you try for me since I am to slow :)

Leave a Reply

