Her {unexpected} Weekend

Another busy weekend. On Friday and Saturday Andy worked on the basement bathroom and helped a friend pour cement while my sister, Lindsey and I judged a dance competition. After the solo competition on Friday we went to dinner at Slackwater.

IMG_0241, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Mmm…Chile Verde Nachos and Pulled Pork Pizza.

IMG_5550, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

IMG_8328, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

IMG_1472, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

After a busy couple of days we thought we’d just be able to relax on Sunday. That morning we decided to take Ash hiking up above Ogden. We started at the 30th street trail head. We took a trail we’d never been on before.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were just hiking along, minding our own business when along the side of the trail I spotted this cat!! We don’t have a clue how it got so far up there on the mountain.

Photobucket

But it’s really high up there. You can see the houses below. I decided to see if he would let me pet him. I figured if he was wild he’d get spooked and run off. But as I touched his head, he didn’t flinch a bit. I felt down the length of his body and the poor thing was skin and bones. That’s when I knew that he was someone’s lost pet. I decided to try to pick him up. I scooped him in my arms and he was just as weak as could be. When he nudged his little nose into the crook of my arm, I knew he was just so happy to have been found.

Photobucket

We couldn’t leave him up there to starve to death. We had to help him. I carried him the entire hike back down the mountain. He didn’t make a peep the whole way. He just kept kneading my arm with his paws. We got back to the car and he snuggled down in my lap. We tried to drive around the local neighborhoods looking for lost cat fliers but didn’t see anything so we finally just took him home.

Photobucket

We fed him some soft food and he wolfed that down quick as a wink. He was famished. 

kitty

As soon as his tummy was full, he crawled over to our laps and snuggled down on us. He nudged his nose into us and kneaded us with his paws. He’d just the sweetest little lover-boy, ever. His poor claws are all broken off to little stubs. I’m not sure if he didn’t know how to hunt birds and other food up in the mountain or if he just couldn’t. There was a stream nearby, which I think, saved him.  I have no idea how long he had been stuck up there.

I’m certain he was on his last life when we found him. I’m taking him to the vet today to see if by some miracle he has a chip. We put some ads on KSL and I’ll put some fliers up in the area. We are hoping to find the owner, but we know there’s a slim chance of that. I won’t take him to a shelter, he’s too much of a sweetheart. If we can’t find the owner, we will try to find a good home for him. I would keep him myself if we didn’t already have two finicky cats. 

Photobucket

In between nursing the kitty back to health on Sunday, I managed to get my pots planted. I think they’ll look nice when they fill out. They’re similar to what I did last year but not entirely the same. So that was our crazy weekend. This kitty has kind of thrown our routine out of whack but I’m very happy we were in the right place at the right time and able to help him. (If he is a ‘he.’ He’s too fluffy to tell so I’ll have to ask the vet.) 

Anything crazy happen to you this weekend? 
4 thoughts on “Her {unexpected} Weekend

  1. What an awesome story. As someone who just quit working at a shelter, don't take him there for sure. You could maybe take a picture to the shelter to see if someone is missing him and all the local vet offices. This time a year shelters get so flooded with cats, I would fear his life would be in danger if you took him there. I am so glad he didn't run away from you! Nothing crazy happened to me this weekend. :)

  2. You guys are so sweet to rescue that cat – who is incredibly adorable! I spent the weekend at the step-kids swim meet working the events since it was our home meet. I'm still tired 2 days later!

  3. Isn't it crazy how sometimes the weekend can tire you out more than the work week? By the time I get back to Monday I'm exhausted.

Leave a Reply

