Some thoughts on helping

So the kitty we rescued has taken a turn for the worse and it is breaking our hearts. He has stopped eating and started vomiting. I called the vet and she said, “That’s really not a good sign. It usually means he has kidney or liver problems.” If he does have kidney or liver problems they could be a result of going without food for so long while lost on the mountain. We’ve decided to take him back to the vet today for some tests. Honestly, at this point, we’ve both completely fallen in love with the sweet boy and don’t much care about the price of the blood work. 

I lay awake last night around 3am, unable to sleep. I was worried that I’d get up in the morning and find the kitty gone already.  There are very tough decisions to make whenever you have a pet, especially one who is not ‘technically’ yours. I stared at the ceiling playing out all the scenarios in my head. I know that we will pay the money to have the blood tests done and most likely find that there’s nothing more we can do for him. For a second, I wondered why we were putting ourselves through this. 

And then I thought of the book I had just finished, A Wrinkle In Time, and a passage from it popped into my head.

“Euripedes. Nothing is hopeless; we must hope for everything.” 

It was said by Mrs. Who as the children embark on a mission to save their father. I started to realize that even though we think that probably nothing more can be done for the kitty, we still retain our hope. Maybe it’s silly, but I imagine the kitty up in the mountains, all alone, slowly starving, but still with hope that he would find a friend to help him. I feel that even if the outcome is not good, we can still see it through kitty’s eyes- instead of starving to death, cold and alone on the mountain; he got to spend a couple more days in a warm home, cuddling with people who cared about him.

I thought about that for a little bit. I finally began to feel like I could fall back to sleep, but just before I did, I recalled another line that Mrs. Who said to the children:

“Le coeur a ses raisons que la raison ne connait point
The heart has its reasons, whereof reason knows nothing.”
With that thought in my head I was able to fall back asleep with a little sense of peace. Maybe people think it’s ridiculous to get so worked up over a stray cat, but I’m very much the type of person that believes that “these are all God’s creatures,” and that we should be helping each other when we have the means to. I very much believe that this kitty has been scared and cold and alone and suffering and that he’s grateful now to be warm and loved and cared for, even if these are his last days. This is evident in his cuddles and snuggles with us. So our hearts have our reasons for doing everything we can to help him and that’s all that matters.

2 thoughts on “Some thoughts on helping

  1. I would be doing everything the same way if it were me. :) I hope the kitty pulls through, but if not you are right, you gave him a few peaceful loving days. Animals are amazing. I would be lost without my pets.

Leave a Reply

