Her Weekend

Back to Monday but it was a good weekend while it lasted! On Friday and Saturday I had dance recital to attend. This year I taught first and second grade tap/jazz combination classes. The girls did great and I was really proud of them. We went to dinner Saturday night after the matinee but I was just so worn out that all I wanted to do was come home after and go to bed. 

Photobucket

{1st Grade Class} 

Photobucket

{2nd Grade Class}

Photobucket

{a goodbye gift from a student} 
I was hoping for a decent night sleep but that wasn’t in the cards. Ashland woke us up with the sound of constant flapping ears. She’s been having ear issues where it’s like there is something in her ear and she can’t get it out. As a result she will walk around the house shaking her head and flapping her ears. It’s very loud and when it wakes her up in the night, it wakes us up. Poor thing just couldn’t get any relief. 

Photobucket

We don’t have kids, but we were up at 2 in the morning as if we did have them. It takes both of us to get the medicine in her ears and clean them out. She usually starts to feel better and can fall back to sleep after about 15 minutes. But then of course I couldn’t fall asleep. I tossed and turned all night long. 

Photobucket

By Sunday morning I felt like death warmed over. Andy suggested we head to Einsteins for a bagel and then hit the trail with the road bikes. I agreed hoping that some exercise would wake me up a little. 

Photobucket

The ride was great. We only did 10 miles but it was just the trick to make me feel better. Speaking of bikes- do you like our new door mat? We couldn’t pass it up when we saw it. 

Photobucket 
Photobucket

Pilates every day this weekend helped me keep my energy up. After I tried that Pilates class on Thursday and was disappointed, I came home and searched around online for some good videos to do at home. I really love a group exercise atmosphere but decided to take matters into my own hands. 

Photobucket

For the last three days I’ve been following along with Cassey at Blogilates and I love her workouts! They are super challenging but upbeat and fun at the same time. I also subscribed to her blog so I can keep up with new workouts as they come out. Her workouts are just what I’ve been looking for. If you want to try Pilates, her basic workout is a great place to start. On Sunday night we watched the eclipse through the welder’s helmet. It was really cool. You can see some great pictures of it here

Photobucket 
Photobucket

{attempted picture of the eclipse} 

Photobucket

{another attempted picture} 
Oh, and I also made blackberry crisp which we ate while watching a movie!

Photobucket 

Photobucket{after the movie Henry said it was time for bed}

What did you do this weekend?
One thought on “Her Weekend

Leave a Reply

