Let’s just chit chat today.

* I say a lot of things like ‘chit chat’ that seem to get me funny looks. I also say ‘good grief,’ ‘oh, for Pete’s sake,’ and ‘gee wiz.’ I know. It’s not at all ‘cool,’ but I can’t help it. My future children are going to be so embarrassed of me. I purposely use these phrases when I’m teaching dance, just to make the younger kids laugh. It’s a silly way for me to make the point that they need to try harder. Let’s say we’re doing pirouettes and they turn the wrong way for the millionth time. Instead of getting frustrated, I will say, “Oh, for Pete’s sake, girls. You can get this right. Even Pete knows you can,” and then they will start laughing and almost always get it right the next run through. They know when I ‘talk funny’ that it’s time to step it up a notch. Although sometimes this backfires and they do it wrong just to make me ‘talk funny.’

* Are you on Spotify? First I convinced the hubby to get on there and now I’m going to convince you. I listen to music pretty much all. the. time. so Spotify is awesome. I’ve even pushed Pandora to the wayside in favor of it. The only thing I don’t like is the sharing feature. I don’t need everyone seeing that I listened to Lady Gaga four times in a row. What? Don’t tell me you only listen to ‘cool people’ music all the time and I’m the only one who cues up Gaga once in awhile.
* These two books came from interlibrary loan today. I’m 185 pages into Divergent already. I know I’m a little late to the party, but you guys were right- it’s good. I’m also aware that I have an obsession with trilogies of any kind (or series in general) and also an obsession with young adult fiction and now dystopia. I’ll never grow up when it comes to books.

IMG_20120521_112913, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

* Speaking of series and convincing my husband to do things- so far I have gotten my husband hooked on the following book series: Pillars of the Earth, Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Hunger Games, The Eye of the World, Game of Thrones, The Maze Runner, and Ender’s Game. Our conversations these days go something like this:

Me: “Oh my gosh. You have to read this book. It is SO GOOD…”
Him: “It’s part of a series, isn’t it?”
Me: “Yes…but it’s SO GOOD!”
(For some reason I have this uncanny ability to choose books without even knowing that they are part of a series, only to find out later.)
And then he groans saying that he’ll never get through all those books, especially if I keep introducing new series to him. I’m thinking I may have to introduce him to Divergent next. muawhahaha!

*I’ve discovered how much I like wedge salads. Although I typically substitute the blue cheese for ranch. I like blue cheese crumbles but I’m not big on blue cheese dressing.

* So I was on Pinterest a lot for awhile there. Like a lot, a lot. I was on it so much that I finally had to create a brand new account because my pin boards were getting so full. But the minute I created the new account, I suddenly had no more desire to pin. So everyone is still gushing over it and some people are just discovering it and I’m totally over it. You can still follow me though if you want. I may get hooked again. My old boards. My new boards.

*If you’re not watching Up All Night, you really need to. Hilarious. But watch from season 1, episode 1. You’ll enjoy it much more. I promise. We are also hooked on Grimm and for the love of TV, I really need Walking Dead back immediately. Also, I had to call a help quit line to stop my obsession with Downton Abbey. Don’t judge. I swear I never watch this much TV. Graduating college did something very bad to me. Ooh- have you seen that new cooking show, Around the World in 80 Plates? Me thinks I need to watch it. Plus the Bachelorette is back on.

I suppose I’ll get on with my day now.

What do you plan to do with your Tuesday? Any random chit chat you’d like to share with me?
2 thoughts on “Let’s just chit chat today.

  1. Well, since you asked to chat :-) Those books you recommended to your hubbie are awesome – and so is Divergent. Are you going to read Insurgent, the next book – I haven't gotten to it yet. And can you believe I haven't watched ANY of the shows you mentioned … well, except for Grimm, which my hubbie loves, but I'm just meh about. I think I'll try The Walking Dead to see what it's all about.

    So tv shows I'm loving right now; Missing * must watch* And The Good Wife *cannot get enough*.

Leave a Reply

