Her Reads…an update

I am still loving my reading challenges and I think I’ve gotten over feeling guilty about reading all the time. It’s rare to find me without a book these days and I think that’s the way I like it. I’ve also been taking advantage of audio books while I’m at work and that has been awesome!!

IMG_0916

Remember when I talked about the new books I picked up from interlibrary loan last week? Well here’s the verdict. I sent The Visions of Ransom Lake back without finishing it. I only reached chapter 3. I took the amount of times I rolled my eyes in those three chapters to be an indication that the book was not for me. That’s not to say that it was a bad book. It’s got great ratings and reviews on Goodreads. I just couldn’t stomach it. I think if I’m going to be reading westerns they’ve got to be a little more believable and not so fruity.

And Divergent? Finished that in two evenings, reading after dinner. Then I went online and used a gift certificate from Hastings that my sister gave me and bought it…plus Insurgent. Looking forward to diving into that one but I’m going to take my time since it will be awhile before book three comes out. I’ve accepted that I’m a sucker for dystopian novels. I’ve also accepted that it’s very trendy right now to be a sucker for these. Oh well. I like what I like.

IMG_0915

Ahhh cozy mysteries…my new found love. Where have they been all my life? My challenge this year was to read five. I know I’ll exceed that, but once I hit five I’ll take a break in order to catch up on my other challenges. This time I picked up The Hydrogen Murder by Camille Minichino & Miss Zukas and the Library Murders by Jo Dereske

IMG_0914

IMG_0913

I’m also still making my way through 1421: The Year China Discovered America by Gavin Menzies. There is a lot of great stuff in this book. It’s not a book you can read when you’re not totally focused on it. I can only read it when I don’t have other distractions. Plus, I like to take my time looking up his references and reminding me of the history behind everything he’s talking about. I will usually read a page or two and then hit the internet for more information, before reading on. Needless to say, it may take me several months to get through it. 

Anyone want to recommend a book to me that has a topographical feature in the title, now that I’ve dumped ‘The Visions of Ransom Lake’? Also, what are you reading lately?

4 thoughts on “Her Reads…an update

  1. Wow, you got Insurgent already!? I have it on hold at the library; I think I am number 36 or something silly like that!

    I recommend The Heart of the Sea; it's a historical novel (but a fast read!) about the sinking of the Whaleship Essex in 1820 (due to a whale ramming them) in the seas near South America and the subsequent 90 days aboard a lifeboat for the crew.

  2. Well, I went ahead and bought it because I saw how long the library wait list was for it. I'm impatient. :) I will check out The Heart of the Sea. Sounds very interesting!

Leave a Reply

