June Salad Challenge 1~4

With the first four recipes of our June Salad Challenge a success, I’m excited to try some more. Here’s the run down on what we’ve had so far:

Photobucket

Recipe: Caribbean Jerk Chicken Salad with Mangos
Changes: None
The Stars: Mangos, Chicken, Cashews and more!
Recommend: Serve the dressing on the side because it’s thick and a little spicy. We had leftover dressing and liked it so much that we used it as a dip for BLT wraps later in the week. This salad was a huge hit with Andy and I really liked it too. We will definitely be making it again sometime.

Photobucket

Recipe: Italian Broccoli and Kidney Bean Salad (Criss Cross Salad)
Changes: Used yellow onion instead of red and an Italian blend of cheeses instead of cheddar.
The Stars: Broccoli, Kidney Beans, Tomato and more!
Recommend: This was really yummy, but I’d use just half a bottle of Italian dressing the next time I make it. I served this with roasted potatoes and carrots. Again, another hit!

Photobucket

Recipe: Crunchy Pear and Celery with Pecans
Changes: I added two chopped green apples to the recipe and used red wine vinegar in the dressing. My red pears were not ripe yet, so I used the green anjou pears I had on hand. 
The Stars: Apples, Pears, Celery and Pecans!
Recommend: That you make this immediately! So yummy with the pecans. I was skeptical at first that it would be good, but I had pears to use, so I went for it. Oh my goodness. I could eat this for lunch everyday. Perfect bit of crunch to it and the nutty flavor really makes the salad. Also- eat this right after you prepare it. It’s not as good the second day.

Photobucket

Recipe: Asian Pasta Salad with Beef, Broccoli and Bean Sprouts
Changes: I didn’t have a red pepper so I used green pepper.
The Stars: Broccoli, Beef, Bean Sprouts and more!
Recommend: Once again a little dressing goes a long way so don’t pour it all on at once. I also recommend sauteeing your beef just a little before adding it to the salad. It was interesting to use wheat penne pasta instead of noodles for this dish but we liked it.

Would you try a salad challenge now?
2 thoughts on “June Salad Challenge 1~4

Leave a Reply

