Reading Challenges you should try

This is a scheduled guest post while I’m sunning it up in California written by my blogger friend, Kyria. Kyria writes an awesome blog called Travel Spot. We have a lot in common, including our tendency to buy way more books than we actually need! Stop over to Travel Spot where you can see all the cool places she’s been. She’s also a runner so you can follow her 12 in 2012 running challenge and her other running adventures! Thanks Kyria!

 ******

Kim and I have a lot in common. That is why when she asked if I could do a guest post, I jumped on board! I love reading her blog and feel like she and I would get along great in real life. One of the main things I think we share is our love of books. We are also both doing a couple of reading challenges this year. Actually, I am only doing two.

(1) The bookmark break challenge. This is a challenge by AudrieAnne to get those books off the shelves and read them. If you can read more books than she can this year, you get a prize! Last year I beat her by only a few books, so this year, it’s a challenge to try and do it again! So far, I have read 31 books this year.

(2) No book buying. This challenge is to myself, since I cleaned out my storage space late last year and found many (MANY!) books that I haven’t read yet. I also gave away 4 boxes of books. Since the last thing I need is to have to sort through and give away more books, OR to spend money on more books since I have so many waiting to be read, I told myself that I would only read (a) library books, (b) books I already own, (c) borrowed books, (d) books that are given to me as a gift, or (e) as a treat, I could buy books with B&N or Amazon gift cards that I already had. I have not used the gift cards yet. In fact, I have not even bought a book at a thrift store, although that is my downfall, if you will. I did trade about a dozen books with a fellow blogger. I have also received books for free in return for a review. These are all still “legal”.

Now, Kim has a few fun book challenges as well. You probably already know all about them, but if not, they are here. My favorite is the What’s in a Name Challenge, which challenges readers to read a book with these items in the title: (a) a topographical feature, (b) something you would see in the sky, (c) creepy crawly, (d) type of house, (e) something you would carry in a pocket, purse or backpack, and (f) something you would find on a calendar. Kim’s doing great; she’s got 5 out of 6. So I thought I would see how I measured up.

(a) The Forgotten Garden – Kate Morton****

(b) The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern****

(c) —

(d) Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and SweetJamie Ford****

(e) Sarah’s KeyTatiana De Rosney****

(f) Three Cups of Tea – Greg Mortenson & David Oliver Relin***

So I guess I need to read something with a creepy, crawly name! By the way, the stars are my rating system (out of 5) so all of these books are good ones! Thanks again Kim for having me. I can’t wait to see how we both (and all of you!) do on our reading challenges this year! For other reading recommendations, you can visit my Bookshelf page.

What challenges have you taken on this year? Are there any good books you can recommend? 

One thought on “Reading Challenges you should try

Leave a Reply

