Summery front door hanger diy

Hi guys. Today I wanted to share with you a little project I did a couple of weeks ago. I put it together as a housewarming gift for a friend of mine.

Photobucket

I picked up some red and yellow acryllic paint, cute scrapbook paper, red ribbon, wire to hang the flower from, and some yellow glitter.

Photobucket

I got these wood cut-outs from Wood Creations. They had a ton of things to choose from, but in the end, I gravitated toward the flower with the spiral center. I thought it was fun and summery and would look so cute on someone’s front door. Certainly you could cut your own wood if you had the right equipment and the time.

Photobucket
I started out by painting the spiral yellow. I also painted the edges of the flower red. I only painted what I knew would end up being visible on the finished product. Getting in between those petals was a little tough and you have to be careful that you don’t end up with big globs of paint in some places.

Photobucket

Andy helped me figure out how to layout the two pieces of scrapbook paper so that they would cover the entire flower. We also had to make sure that the pattern on the paper would line up so our ‘seam’ would look as ‘seamless’ as possible. This was tough and although I loved the paper that I chose, next time I might choose something with an easier pattern to match.

Photobucket

I used a pencil to trace out the pattern. I then cut it out and layed it over top of the wood flower to make sure it all fit. None of the petals were the same size so this was a little bit of a challenge.

Photobucket

I used Mod Podge to attach the paper to the wood. Isn’t Mod Podge the best crafty tool ever? Afterwards I turned to my attention back to the spiral center.

Photobucket

I applied Mod Podge to that as well and then heaped a generous amount of yellow sugar glitter over the top. I shook off the extra glitter after it had dried a bit.

Photobucket

Then I used a glue gun to attach the spiral center to the main body of the flower. Almost finished! Andy helped me thread the hanging wire through and get it positioned just right. Wood Creations pre-drills holes for this purpose, which makes it really nice. We used the handle of our paint brush to make curly Q’s in the wire.

Photobucket

We put curly Q’s at the top of the wire, where it would hang from a nail, and on both edges to keep it from slipping out of the wood. I tied the red ribbon to the wire and let the ends hang over the front.

close up ribbon and curl

And there you have it!

flower

A super cute and fun, summer door hanger to greet visitors when they come to your house!
3 thoughts on “Summery front door hanger diy

Leave a Reply

