June Salad Challenge 14~22

Finally- an update!! As you know, we are still finishing up our June Salad challenge in July and we’re getting closer to 30 salads! This has been a fun challenge to do.

Here are the latest:

Photobucket

Recipe~ Cucumber, Tomato, & Pineapple Salad
Changes~ none
The Stars~ Pineapple, Asian dressing and mint from our garden
Recommend~ This was really good after I had chilled it for a couple of hours. I also didn’t need to use all the dressing.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Copy Cat Olive Garden Salad
Changes~ My salad is not exactly the way that Olive Garden does it- I didn’t have any of those peppers they put on theirs.
The Stars~ The dressing!!
Recommend~ This was a pretty good copy cat recipe. I saved the dressing and used it on my lunch salads.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with Cider Vinaigrette
Changes~ I didn’t have arugula so I used spinach. 
The Stars~ Butternut Squash, maple syrup, and Dijon mustard
Recommend~ This was a favorite in our house. The vinaigrette is really tasty.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Summer Tortellini Salad
Changes~ none
The Stars~ Tortellini, basil, artichoke hearts
Recommend~ We both really liked this salad. Next time I won’t use as much basil just because I’m not a huge fan of it and I thought the flavor was too strong. Also, find an italian dressing you really like because that will make all the difference.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Chicken Salad
Changes~ I usually just make chicken salad from memory so that link will just give you some ideas. This time I had grapes, craisins, celery and cashews in it.
The Stars~ Chicken, Cashews, Celery, Grapes, Craisins
Recommend~ I always serve mine on croissants, because I like that better than just plain bread.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Crunchy Sweet Brussel Sprout Salad
Changes~ none
The Stars~ Brussel sprouts, nutmeg, cranberries, walnuts
Recommend~ Yum, yum! I am loving Brussel sprouts more and more. Try this!

Photobucket

Recipe~ Quinoa, Kale, & Butternut Squash Salad
Changes~ I didn’t have any thyme so I left it out. I was okay with that because I really don’t like thyme.
The Stars~ Quinoa, Kale, Butternut Squash
Recommend~ We are big fans of this salad! Quinoa is just so versatile. The kale came from our garden and it was so good!!

Photobucket

Recipe~ Ham & Turkey Chef Salad
Changes~ none- the link to those chef salad recipes is just some suggestions. I didn’t really use a recipe for this one.
The Stars~ Ham, Turkey, Hard boiled eggs, and veggies
Recommend~ I had some deli meat I needed to use so I just sliced that length wise. Chef salads are so easy and there are a ton of different ways you can make them. I love the eggs though and always add a little salt and pepper on top. I put out several kinds of dressing to go with it.

Photobucket

Recipe~ Avocado, Cranberry, & Carrot Salad
Changes~ I didn’t have any apples so those were omitted. 
The Stars~ Avocado, carrot, pecans, cranberries, spinach
Recommend~ You guys know I’m a huge fan of avocado. If you are too, then you need to try this. I barely used any balsamic and it was perfect. The shaved carrots were a nice addition too.

Well, probably just one more batch of recipes and we will be done with this challenge!

Which of these salads do you think you’d like to try?
3 thoughts on “June Salad Challenge 14~22

  1. I love this idea, I hope to do it someday. You have so much variety, I love it! The ham and turkey chef looks particularly tasty today. We love grapes in our chicken salad, up to the point of doing equal parts chicken and grapes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

