Polka dots in the bathroom

I wanted to share with you a little project I worked on last night. I decided to cover our bathroom shelves with some cute polka dot contact paper.

Here’s what they looked like before. Pretty ugly.

Photobucket

I started by removing the the drawers and shelves that would come out.

Photobucket

Make sure you give each surface a really good wipe down. You don’t want any dirt getting stuck under your contact paper.

Photobucket

I then laid one of my shelves on the sheet of contact paper to measure it.

Photobucket

The instruction recommend leaving 3/8′ overlap on each side. You can cut off any excess after you’ve got it positioned just right.

Photobucket

I used a pen to mark where I was going to cut.

Photobucket

And then I cut four sheets of that same size out. One for each of the two shelves and two for each of the bottoms of the tall cabinet.

Photobucket

Then it’s as simple as peeling off the backing and positioning it on your shelf.

Photobucket

Don’t worry if you don’t get it just right at first. It’s easy to peel off and reapply, plus you have the excess from each edge to work with.

Photobucket

Then take a flat hard surface or a rag and slide it across your contact paper. Work from the middle out to the edges to smooth out any bubbles.

Photobucket

Now the drawers were a little trickier to measure so I made sure to leave extra on each side just in case. After you cut out your drawer piece then push it in to place inside the drawer. Use your flat surface or rag to smooth out any bubbles.

Photobucket

Use a razor blade to cut off any excess paper around the edges.

Photobucket

Smooth it down one more time to make sure it’s all stuck in every corner.

Photobucket

Since the bottom of the cabinets couldn’t be removed, I used one of the shelves as a template, cut a piece of contact paper to fit (leaving a little extra on each edge just in case) and then applied it right in place. I had to use the razor blade to clean up the edges.

Photobucket

Then I put my shelves and drawers back in place.

Photobucket

So much cuter than those dingy unfinished cabinet shelves and drawers! This was really an easy project and came together pretty quickly.

Photobucket

I love that there’s a surprise pop of color and pattern when you open the cabinets!

Photobucket

Don’t you think that sometimes it’s the small changes we make to a room that can really liven it up?

*Polka dog contact paper is from Kmart

8 thoughts on “Polka dots in the bathroom

  1. Great idea! If we weren't in a rental I'd use contact paper. I bought some other shelf liner that doesn't have any holes in it to put in our new place. I hate having my stuff directly on the cabinets where other people's stuff has been. Ick!

Leave a Reply

