Her Weekend-1st Cycling Event Recap

Is it seriously Monday morning already? Sometimes it’s just not fair how fast the weekend flies by! Congratulations to Rebecca, who won the Target pillow giveaway! Also, thank you all so much for participating in the giveaway and thank you to those of you who filled out my little survey. It helped me tremendously!

Now, I have to tell you about a little adventure we had on Saturday morning. Andy and I participated in our first cycling event! It was a non-competitive bicycle tour of 40, 60, and 100 mile routes. The proceeds from the event went to help people with disabilities participate in outdoor recreational activities.

I’ll be honest, I was nervous and didn’t feel at all prepared. We signed up for the event just two weeks ago and had only ridden a little before then. The most I’d ever gone was 20 miles in one ride. I considered dropping out up until just an hour before the event was to start. But in the end, I decided to go for it and see how much I could do, and I’m glad I did! I think it helped my nerves that it wasn’t actually a race.

cvc ride andy and I

I finished the 40 mile course and Andy finished the 60 mile course. It took me about 2 hours and 45 minutes as I was only going around 15 mph the entire time. It wasn’t easy, but I can confidently say that I could probably do more if we had trained correctly. That makes me excited to try again!

The course wasn’t too bad and only a few sections gave me some trouble. The first hour of the race was rough because it was so damn cold! I didn’t drink much water because my freezing hands couldn’t maneuver the water bottle while I was riding. That slowed me down a lot. While the downhills should have provided some relief, they were worse in the cold air. It was much better when it began to warm up a little.

cvc my bike

Honestly, the huge feeling of accomplishment I got when I crossed that finish line was enough to make me want to do this again. It’s kind of fun finding out that you can do more than you really thought you could. I was definitely sore and tired when I finished, but it was worth it!

cvcme2

I know some of you are working on fitness goals. What have you made yourself try and were surprised in the end that you could actually do?
3 thoughts on “Her Weekend-1st Cycling Event Recap

  1. Congratulations!!!! That's a pretty huge deal – I love cycling, but clip-in pedals scare the crap out of me and I'm surprised I'm so comfortable using them these days after falling millions of times!

  2. That's so exciting. You know that biking is such a big deal to me now, so I can really relate. I got a new (road) bike a few days ago. I have the post about it scheduled for next week. :) So glad that you decided to do it and not drop out!

Leave a Reply

