Taking Chances

Tomorrow I’m going to take a great leap of faith. I’m leaving my current position and starting a new one. I’m scared and excited all at once. It’s a little nerve wracking going from a job that you’ve pretty much got down to a science to one that you know nothing about. I’ve never liked that transition point between not even knowing where the copy machine in the building is to being an expert at your job. It always feels awkward. I much prefer to be in that place where I’m awesome at my job already.
But I also know what can happen at that point-which is where I’m at now. The job no longer challenges me, and more often than not, it bores me to death. I’m looking forward to becoming good at something else. I’m looking forward to a job that is always changing and evolving so that it keeps me on my toes and excited for the next thing. 
Tomorrow I will take that leap of faith into the unknown and become a ‘newbie’ again. I’m nervous for that but taking chances has paid off for me in the past and I’m hoping that it will in this case too. There’s one thing I’ve learned- never taking a chance means staying stagnant. If I want to continue to grow and learn as a person, then I have to challenge myself to take leaps of faith once in awhile in order to make that happen.
5 thoughts on “Taking Chances

  1. Good luck! I took a job in a new school district and a completely different position than I've ever held before. I'm excited, but it's overwhelming and I feel like I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing. I'm going to do my best and hopefully I will get it all figured out. I'm excited for the change because I felt like I wasn't going anywhere in the other position.

  2. Good for you! I know you have been unhappy about your job for awhile. I am sure you will be awesome. I always feel the same way when learning a new job task.

Leave a Reply

